‘Scooter’

6 Nov

My entire life, Scooter (as he wishes to be anonymous, but did not provide a name, this is what he ended up with.) has been a personal confident yet also a antagonizing presence in my day-to-day life. He’s been with me through quite a bit, and always seems to make me laugh, or at the very least, get ready to throw something at him. He has been through a lot of changes in his life, and I interviewed him on the subject… for the most part.

Harlow: Have you ever been to a school you didn’t like?
Scooter: Yes, I’ve definitely been to a school that I didn’t like. There were tons of bullies, and the teachers were all biased towards Americans. Bullying is a huge problem in a lot of schools, and this one was no exception. Bullying can have a really lasting effect. The person doing the bullying becomes the alpha and the victim develops the mindset that they will never be the alpha. This type of thinking can last a lifetime.

H: What types of things helped you get through this time of trouble?
S: My dogs and my friends really helped me through this time, but it also helped that I faced problems and trials head-on. When I got harassed I fought back, and got to know the principal really well.

H: You went to 8 different schools in 4 different, and you graduated from and international high school. What advice would you have for someone who changes schools frequently?
S: Maintain your confidence. If you get hassled for being new, hassle right back. Don’t be afraid to be friends with anyone who seems friendly. Don’t be afraid to sit at the nerdy table at lunch.

H: You seem to make friends easily. What’s the secret?
S: Find things in common with someone else and be ready to point it out. But don’t be something you aren’t. Be confident in who you are.

H: Going from high school to college must have been world-flipping. What would you say is the best way to maintain your confidence when faced with a new thing?
S: Be sure to always hold onto the things that make you, you. Hold onto the things that you like to do: Personal distraction tools. For me this is video games, and my artwork. Another thing is you shouldn’t be too cautious. People may play tricks on you and whatnot, but afterwords, those people are going to seem like bullies and people are going to take your side. Maybe you’ll have gained a few friends from the whole experience.

Leave a Reply

