Bread and Butter

22 Aug

Green Day has always been a part of my musical “bread and butter.” My alma mater, if you will. It introduced me to the world of not-top-40 music, and I have always respected them for bridging that gap for middle school me. It was in middle school I learned many things from Green Day, not the least of which is how to apply black eyeliner. I also learned that the guitar and bass were a part of the band, not just the singer, as I had always imagined. Even the drums made a temporary stay in my ‘important instruments’ list. To this day, I look back on that epiphany with pride, knowing that some people don’t realize this their entire lives, and I had discovered it in the swirling vortex of hatred that is middle school.

2 Responses to “Bread and Butter”

  1. maximillion13 August 22, 2011 at 8:01 PM #

    I’m thinking that drums should be staying there forever in the ‘important instruments’ list!

    • dolphincharms August 22, 2011 at 8:22 PM #

      Oh, now it is. Definitely, definitely, definitely.

Leave a Reply

